An Art Deco masterpiece in the heart of London’s West End, Freemasons' Hall welcomes more than 200,000 people from all over the world through its doors every year.
Originally built as a peace memorial to honour the thousands of Freemasons who fought and died during the First World War, Freemasons’ Hall is the headquarters of the United Grand Lodge of England and comprises 22 Lodge rooms, board and committee rooms and administrative offices.
The building is open to the public from Monday to Saturday – welcoming everyone from members of the public and guests attending special events, through to members visiting for meetings. A new digital tour of the building leads visitors around the building, taking in the new café and award-winning gift shop.
Read the Covid-19 measurements put in place at Freemasons’ Hall to protect staff, members and visitors.
The building has been updated during the past few years to enhance accessibility for disabled users. The main entrance into Freemasons’ Hall is on Great Queen Street. There are automatic doors leading into the building and once inside, our staff will be there to help you. We have wheelchairs, accessible toilets and an accessible lift all available for disabled people to use should they require them.
On the first floor you’ll find our award-winning Shop at Freemasons’ Hall, with an extensive range of high-quality gifts and souvenirs related to Freemasonry.
As well as being a popular visitor destination – Freemasons’ Hall was recognised as a 2020 Tripadvisor Travellers’ Choice award-winner – the building also hosts a varied programme of events throughout the year, including organ concerts and taking part in Open House London, as well as working closely with various charities and providing space for community and nationwide projects such as NHS blood donor sessions.
Freemasons’ Hall includes tours showcasing the beautiful architecture and history of the stunning Grade II* listed building, the magnificent Grand Temple and the Museum of Freemasonry, which houses one of the leading collections of masonic artefacts and books. The Museum’s North Gallery houses the museum's permanent exhibition, Three Centuries of English Freemasonry, and offers enlightenment on the origins of Freemasonry.
A stylish new café and bar has opened on the ground floor of the building and work is taking place on the renovation of the roofspace.
Freemasons’ Hall stands on Great Queen Street, on a site that has been used to hold meetings for Freemasons since 1775. The present building, the third Masonic Hall on the site, was constructed between 1927 and 1933 as a memorial to those who died in the First World War and was for many years known as the Masonic Peace Memorial.
The architects were HV Ashley and F Winton Newman, whose other major commissions included the Council House extension and Art Gallery in Birmingham, Clive House (the Passport Office) in Petty France, and London and Cheltenham Technical College, as well as housing schemes and hospitals.
The building cost of £1.3m was financed by contributions from Lodges and individual Freemasons to the Masonic Million Memorial Fund. Contributions to the Fund were voluntary and were recognised by a special commemorative Masonic jewel, the Hall Stone Jewel, which was silver for contributions of ten guineas or more and gold for contributions of 100 guineas or more. Lodges that raised an average of 10 guineas per member were entitled to be known as Hall Stone Lodges and had their names and numbers inscribed on commemorative marble panels.
An in-demand venue, Freemasons’ Hall has featured in numerous Hollywood blockbusters and television programmes in recent years, including The Crown, Spectre and Sherlock Holmes, as well as the music videos of Scottish singer-songwriter Lewis Capaldi.
Freemasons' Hall is also the perfect setting to hire for a range of events including product launches, fashion shows, creative performances, conferences, drinks receptions and dinners and dances.